Georgia, like other states that have a fault-based system, has minimum car insurance requirements. This does not include auto liability coverage. This policy covers victims of car accidents caused by the driver covered.
Continue reading to find out more about Georgia’s minimum requirements and recommended coverages.
Auto Liability Insurance Minimum Requirements
The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire requires Georgia drivers to prove that they have minimum coverage. These coverage limits must include:
- $25,000 for bodily injury sustained by one accident victim
- All accident victims are liable for bodily injury, up to $50,000
- $25,000 for liability for all property damage to vehicles involved in an accident
This policy is commonly called 25/50/25 insurance, which refers to coverage limits. Auto liability policies cover the victims of collisions caused by policyholders. This policy doesn’t compensate you for a collision. It protects your assets in the event that you make a mistake or cause an accident.
This insurance is essential to protect yourself against being sued by the victim and to recover any money you have in your bank accounts.
To increase these limits beyond the minimum state requirements, you can invest in additional liability coverage.
Car Insurance for the Uninsured or Underinsured
Georgia law doesn’t require coverage for uninsured or underinsured motorists (UM and UIM). This coverage should not be required, as state law does not require auto liability coverage. Many people disregard the law and drive with no insurance or inadequate coverage.
A UM/UIM policy is required if a driver cancels or lets their policy lapse, and causes an accident that leaves you with injuries. It can be easier to get the money you need for medical care, vehicle repairs, and lost wages. Your passengers will be covered if they are injured in an accident.
You might need to sue the at-fault driver to get compensation. Most people who have significant assets don’t drive without insurance. Without UM/UIM coverage, it can be difficult to get the money that you need. It is possible that your insurance policy will not cover your medical expenses and you may need to wait to return to work.
There are other coverages you might be interested in
There are many optional coverages that you might want to invest in when you buy your auto insurance. Ask your insurer questions about these policies.
Insurance for Physical Damage
If your vehicle is damaged in an accident, your physical damage coverage will pay for repairs or replacement. The policy covers all faults, but your insurer might pursue the other party through subrogation. If there is sufficient evidence to support their negligence or liability, this may occur.
There are two types of physical damage coverage. Comprehensive covers all damages. Leasing companies and lenders often require physical damage coverage. This coverage is often required by the owner or finance company of a leased vehicle in order to protect their investment.
Coverage for Medical Payments
Med pay is also known as medical payments. It covers bodily injury sustained in an accident, regardless of fault or cause. This coverage can be beneficial for many reasons.
- It can be difficult to get the insurance that covers accident injuries.
- Coverage may not be available to the at-fault driver.
- If you were the one who caused the accident, you may need to pay your bills.
- This could allow you to get compensation quicker.
- You can file a claim to your insurance and let it pursue the at-fault party.
There may be other options available from your insurance company. These options and the cost can be discussed with you by your insurance company. These include:
- After a collision, rental reimbursement
- Towing coverage
- Glass repair and replacement: Reduced deductibles
What to do after a Georgia Car Accident
When you’re in an accident, the first priority should be to contact the police and get medical attention. After your injuries have stabilized, you should schedule a free consultation with an attorney. They can explain the insurance company’s role in your case, and what your options are for holding another driver responsible.
Crash victims can sue the at-fault driver in Georgia for up to two years, under O.C.G.A. SS 9-3-333. You must act as soon as possible after your injuries to ensure your financial recovery.
Get in touch with our team today
H Groves Law’s Atlanta car crash lawyers assist clients in seeking and obtaining compensation through civil or insurance claims. To learn more about your options, we offer free consultations. Contact us today to get started.