Things can quickly go wrong or even become fatal when a driver texts behind the wheel. The Georgia Department of Transportation says that the number of accidents caused by distracted driving has increased by more than 400% since 2006.
Texting while driving is not only risky but also illegal in Georgia. The law prohibits using a cell phone while driving to send texts or emails. If you suffered injuries in a crash in Gainesville or elsewhere in Georgia, contact H Groves Law.
Our Gainesville texting and driving accident lawyers will review cell phone records and work with expert investigators to form the basis of a compelling personal injury lawsuit. At H Groves Law, we put a lot of effort into ensuring that drivers who text and drive and cause accidents are held liable. Helping you obtain the compensation you deserve is our top priority.
Call (770) 329-1868 today to schedule a free initial consultation with our car accident attorneys in Gainesville.
Texting and Driving Statistics in Georgia
According to the Georgia Department of Transportation, the number of accidents caused by distracted driving has increased by more than 400% since 2006. Georgia recorded 25,215 accidents in 2016 where cell phones, not paying attention, or being distracted were contributing factors. Only 5,784 of these kinds of accidents occurred in 2006.
Georgia Laws and Penalties for Texting and Driving
In Georgia, the law for texting while driving is called the Hands-Free Law. According to the law:
- You are not allowed to hold or support a wireless telecommunications or standalone electronic device with any part of your body while operating a motor vehicle on any highway.
- You cannot type, send, or read any text-based message on a wireless telecommunications device or standalone electronic device, including but not limited to a text message, instant message, email, or Internet data.
- Using a navigation device or sending a voice message that is automatically converted to text by a device and sent as a message is exempt from this rule.
- You cannot watch a video or a movie on wireless telecommunications or a standalone electronic device except for navigation-related data.
- You cannot record or broadcast a video.
- Electronic devices used solely to continuously record or broadcast video inside or outside a motor vehicle are exempt from this rule.
If you receive a distracted driving ticket in Georgia for the first time, you won’t be penalized more than $50. However, a $100 maximum fine will be assessed if you are caught twice in 24 months. A $150 fine may also be imposed if you receive three or more convictions in 24 months.
How Texting Can Affect Your Driving
You take twice as long to respond when you are texting and driving. While driving, it will take you one to two seconds to reply if you are paying attention but three to four seconds if you are not. Texting while driving makes it much less likely for drivers to:
- Maintain a safe following distance from other vehicles.
- Stay in your lane when turning or moving straight ahead.
- Maintain a legal and reasonable speed.
Drivers can easily hurt someone when texting and driving.
How Can You Prove the Other Driver Caused an Accident Because of Texting?
Drivers often claim they weren’t using a cell phone or texting when involved in texting-related accidents that injure or kill other people. Our texting while driving accident attorneys at H Groves Law can use the following types of evidence to refute a driver’s false denials:
- Witnesses’ statements.
- Accident scene photographs.
- Police accident report.
Of course, obtaining this proof can be challenging, especially if you are still hurt and trying to recover. You can concentrate on getting back on your feet while our Gainesville distracted driving accident lawyers build a solid case against the driver who hit you.
Why Do I Need a Texting and Driving Accident Lawyer?
Driving has become riskier due to a large portion of the technology intended to make our lives easier. While it might seem obvious that being distracted while driving is dangerous, it is not always simple to determine what caused an accident. The most crucial thing you can do to protect your future after suffering severe injuries is to fight for your right to compensation.
You must therefore be in the company of someone familiar with the system. A knowledgeable texting and driving accident lawyer in Gainesville will fight for a just verdict or settlement to safeguard your future.
The car accident attorneys at H Groves Law are familiar with the facts and evidence needed for your claim to succeed. For many years, we have provided legal assistance to accident victims in Gainesville, Georgia.
When you hire us to represent your interests, we will try to gather as much information as possible about your case. Here are some of the ways we will help with your case.
- We will request cell phone records.
- We will review any surveillance footage related to the accident.
- We will gather other evidence such as the police report and accident scene photos.
- We will negotiate with the insurance company for a settlement.
- We will represent you in court if a fair settlement isn’t reached.
How Much Will a Lawyer Cost?
Being injured in a texting while driving accident can be expensive. Medical bills for treatment and care can be overwhelming, especially if you need surgery. As a result, many victims and their families wonder if they can afford a lawyer to help protect their rights.
The experienced Gainesville texting and driving accident lawyers at H Groves Law know this is a common concern. Our compassionate team knows how frustrating and confusing the claims process can be for victims and their loved ones.
But in times of great uncertainty, car accident victims can rely on H Groves Law to protect their rights to compensation and justice without any upfront costs! You only pay us after we collect compensation for you.
Call (770) 329-1868 for a free case review to learn more about our contingency fee agreement.
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim in Georgia?
You have two years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit in Georgia. In the event of a fatal accident, families must file a wrongful death claim within two years of the date of death.
Two years may seem like a long time, but it isn’t. You must conduct research and compile supporting documentation before submitting a claim. Obtaining legal counsel as soon as possible will give your Gainesville texting & driving accident attorney enough time to locate compelling proof to support your case.
Call Our Gainesville Texting and Driving Accident Lawyers Today!
Distracted driving is a leading cause of auto accidents that result in injuries and fatalities. At H Groves Law, our experienced texting and driving accident lawyers in Gainesville pursue justice for victims who have been hurt in accidents caused by distracted driving.
Let us stand up for your rights and pursue the compensation and justice you deserve. To schedule a free, confidential consultation, call us at (770) 329-1868.